Islamic University in Uganda Academic Calendar 2019/2020

By | July 2, 2019

Islamic University in Uganda Academic Calendar 2019/2020

The Islamic University in Uganda was opened in the year 1988 by the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) under a bilateral agreement between the Government of Uganda (GOU) and the OIC.

In 1990, the Parliament of Uganda enacted a law, The Islamic University in Uganda Act (cap 131, Laws of Uganda), formally establishing the University in Uganda. The University operates under the framework of this Act.

The University opened on 10th February 1988 with 80 students and two degree programmes. Currently, it offers 72 programmes in 7 Faculties and has a student population of 8,638 coming from 21 different countries.

The University has so far graduated 25,000 students from various disciplines. The University has a centre for Postgraduate Studies and four campuses including the main Campus in Mbale. The University employs over 600 fulltime members of staff from 8 countries, and about 300 on part time basis. ”

Since its inception, Islamic University in Uganda has so far had 25 Graduation ceremonies. The university has 4 campuses spread across the country. The main campus is located in Mbale, Eastern Uganda. Other campuses are; Kampala Campus, located at Kibuli Hill, East of Kampala Capital City, The Females’ campus Kabojja, West of Kampala Capital City and Arua campus in West Nile Region, Northern Uganda.

The 2019/20 academic calendar can be obtained or accessed here

Return to the admission page

Important Links;

Islamic University in Uganda Admission Requirements

Islamic University in Uganda Courses Offered

Islamic university in Uganda Fees Structure

Islamic University in Uganda Application Forms 2019/2020